The day I had to go on LIFE SUPPORT!

 

Mikel Welch on The Talk (CBS Network)

Mikel Welch on The Talk (CBS Network)

The day I was booted off (or as I like to refer to as my HGTV Star Funeral..) HGTV Star was so bitter sweet. I was extremely tired because we taped that show 7 days a week for a month and a half with only 2 days off. So needless to say, I was ready to pack up my “little bow ties” and hit it! I never looked at it as losing HGTV Star but rather a kick start in my design & hosting career. Immediately after the show, I got a call from Season 7 winner Danielle Colding, asking me if I’d do a cameo appearance in one of her upcoming episodes. This was right up my alley! After watching enough reality shows, you know that you don’t have to win the show to get your big break. I’ve definitely learned a lot watching Jennifer Hudson soar after her departure from American Idol. One month later, I got an offer to work as the Set Dresser/Prop Stylist for the new Steve Harvey Show. There was one catch, I had to move to Chicago!

Me on the Steve Harvey Show - NBC Network

Me on the Steve Harvey Show – NBC Network

Now if there is one thing I can guarantee, it’s New Yorker’s love NYC and Chicago folks love their Chicago! I was not thrilled at all about this move but decided to give it a try. Well to my pleasant surprise, one of my executive producers remembered seeing me on HGTV Star and ask me to design Steve Harvey’s office. Little did I know that this project would be the catalyst in my new design career. Within the past year alone, I have had the opportunity to meet and design rooms for First Lady Michelle Obama, Oprah Winfrey, Halle Berry, Joan Rivers, Bishop TD Jakes, Tyler Perry, Tyra Banks and Hoda & Käthe Lee. If that wasn’t enough, my producers then brought me onboard as Steve Harvey’s in house Design Expert on the show. In this first season, Ive already completed 4 design segments. Needless to say, you don’t have to win to come out on top!

Leave a Reply

